Cervical Dysplasia

Cervical dysplasia, Cervical intraepithelial neoplasia (CIN). It has stages and can go hand in hand with a positive HPV. It can lead to cervical cancer, but is usually curable before it gets to that stage. I’m not sure if it has anything to do with endometriosis, but I do know a few women with endo who have also had cervical dysplasia with or without HPV. HPV, the human papillomavirus, is an infection in the cervix that can lead to cancer, it can cause CIN and warts. Your pap comes back abnormal. You go in for a colposcopy, then the biopsies come back with your cervical cells, good or bad, then you’re treated. Sounds simple. It is. As long as it is taken care of or treated, there’s no need to freak out.

The Categories for CIN on a pap from About.com http://cancer.about.com/od/cervicalcancerbasics/a/dysplasia.htm :

ASCUS (Atypical Cells of Undetermined Significance): mildly abnormal. This is common. It means there were very mild changes and the cause could not be determined, it could be due to infection, irritation, or precancerous changes. ASCUS is not considered to be cervical dysplasia until a colposcopy is done to confirm.

AGUS (Atypical Glandular cells of Undetermined Significance): glandular cells that may originate in the cervical canal or uterus. It’s not technically cervical dysplasia, but it can indicate underlying serious conditions. AGUS is considered rare.

LGSIL (Low Grade Squamous Intraepithelial Lesion): mild dysplasia, possibly caused by the human papillomavirus, has been detected. It is common and can clear up on its own within two years.

HGSIL (High Grade Squamous Intraepithelial Lesion): is a more serious classification of cervical dysplasia, left untreated, it could lead to cervical cancer.

For me, I had a Pap test done about 6 months later than usual, so it was a year and a half after my last pap and it came back with abnormal cells. So I went in and got a colposcopy, a cervical biopsy. It was very uncomfortable, of course at the time I thought it was painful. Both of my samples came back CIN II, HSIL, so that’s considered moderate dysplasia where 2/3 of the cervix lining is covered with abnormal cells.

If you look up the causes of Cervical Dysplasia, they are; HPV, Immune system issues, multiple sexual partners, pregnancy before 20 and smoking.

Treatment is usually curable via;

Cryosurgery, http://cancer.about.com/od/cervicalcancertreatment1/a/cryosurgery.htm freezing of the abnormal cells. Be sure to always read the risks.

LEEP (which is what I had done) http://cancer.about.com/od/cervicalcancertreatment1/a/LEEP.htm an electrical wire loop burns off the abnormal cells. I, however, chose to be sedated for this procedure. I recommend having it done in a hospital or ambulatory center that is usually more sterile of an environment.

Conization or cone biopsy. http://www.webmd.com/cancer/cervical-cancer/cone-biopsy-conization-for-abnormal-cervical-cell-changes This one is more extreme in my opinion.

After my LEEP, my gynecologist told me to come in every 3 months until I had 2 normal paps, then every 6 months until I had 2 normal paps. My paps would come back as ASCUS and the colposcopies would be normal. This year was the first year I have gone the whole year. In other words, it has taken over 3 years for me to have 2 normal paps in a row, so now I am back to normal, yearly routine pap smears.

If you haven’t gone to your gynecologist in over a year, please go. Cervical Dysplasia can lead to an invasive cervical cancer that can be prevented or caught and treated early.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

