Endo Awareness Week for some parts

This is the beginning of endometriosis awareness week. It is a time when we should be spreading the word and educating women and girls everywhere. Sadly, we also need to educate the doctors who think its all in our head or that we are hypochondriacs. The pain we feel is real. The heartache we feel is real. I knew a young girl who’s mother used to buy her wine coolers when she got her period. Yup, she had to drink her pain away at 15 years old. I pretty sure she had endometriosis and probably waited 10 or more years for a diagnosis. I was 15 when I got my first period. Kind of late compared to most endo sufferers. But the next time I got it I was 16! I was irregular and was put on the pill when I was 18 or 19. I do remember heavy periods and some cramps back then. I think I was lucky to have been put on the pill so quickly. I was on it until I was almost 35 years old. Within a year and a half, I began my painful journey with endometriosis. I have had doctors performing surgeries just to try to get me pregnant. They were of the old belief that pregnancy can cure me or at least make it go away for a while. So, I had useless surgeries to remove the cysts and keep my tubes, unable to take pain medication due to sensitivities to drugs and the heartbreak of not being able to conceive. I have since had 2 surgeries to correct what those doctors couldn’t or wouldn’t do and had my left tube removed because it was destroyed from endometriosis. In 10 days, the right tube will be taken out. This is all too common for our endometriosis sufferers. Some have even had hysterectomies in their 20’s and 30’s. It’s a disease that needs a cure. Please spread the word.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis, hope and love, invisible illness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

