Immediately post op

When I woke up, I saw a smiling nurse and she introduced herself as Kathy. She was talking to me the whole time, gave me ice chips and showed me pictures of her beautiful dogs. My eyelids were so heavy, it was hard to open my eyes but I saw her pups and her smile. Then I used her iPhone to go on my blog and show her my dogs. This was the first time I remember really viewing the recovery area. The last two times I slept through that part. I could see that to the right of me was my nurse, Kathy, in a chair with a computer in front of her, then another bed with a nurse and another as far as I could see. Each patient had their own nurse while they woke. How great is that? Then Dr. T stopped by to see me. Kathy leaned in and asked me if I wanted to give her a hug and of course I said yes. I hugged my anesthesiologist and thanked her. Or at least I think I did. I was wheeled back into my own private recovery room where my family was waiting for me. I slept a little longer. The nurse on that side, brought me toast and tea and I ate a little and slept. It was probably around 5 pm when I was back in my recovery room. We aimed to leave at 7 to avoid the traffic going home. My mom helped me dress after my IV was pulled out. I finally was helped to the bathroom. We were home a little after 9pm. I slept most of the way. I had to go to the bathroom for the last 20 minutes of that car ride. It was painful. I almost ran into the house, my wonderful husband helped me into the house and I ran to the bathroom. I was so relieved to empty my bladder. Then, I went straight to bed. I feel pretty good. Better than after any of the other surgeries. This may be the one that lasts longer than 5 months, I’m hoping it lasts for years and that our last embryo makes itself comfortable in a nice 9 month home one day.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

