Laparoscopy #1

You should always get a second or third opinion. That being said, I went to the hospital for an outpatient procedure called a laparoscopy on June 28, 2010. I was to have my cyst removed and my tubes flushed to see if they were ok. I was there on time at 9am. Starving!!! Around 11am, I got my IV in the middle of my forearm! I thought that was bizarre. And off I went into the OR. They always give you versed, (I think that’s what it is called) its the good stuff. I don’t do well with anesthesia as I have had tons of experience with it over the last 3 years. Gas anesthesia is not my friend. When I tried to wake up, I remember the nurse, someone I knew, kept telling me to breathe. I was so sick to my stomach. The pain was almost unbearable and the medication they gave me made my spine feel like it was on fire and I think I passed out from pain. I had to stay the night at the hospital. In the maternity ward. How ironic. I couldn’t sit up on my own. I had wondered if my stomach had been cut open. It wasn’t but I remember how scary that thought was. I vomited several times. I needed a nurse to help me to the bathroom. They had to change the gown due to bleeding. It was a horrible experience. After I got home, I still couldn’t sit up for a week. It made for a terrible 4th of July celebration weekend. I was in so much pain. I had some oozing from one of my holes. So I went in to have the obgyn look at it. He said it was ok. Come back for a check up in 6-8 weeks. During the surgery, they looked around and saw no evidence of endometriosis anywhere. They put the dye through my tubes and they were clear. When they went to remove my endometrioma, it ruptured. They had to flush my abdomen and suction it. In August, I couldn’t finish my meals. My appetite decreased and I was in more pain. Started having lots of trips to the bathroom. My husband proposed to me on August 22nd. I was not expecting that, but really happy he did! Time to look at venues and set a date. We made an appointment to look at a local venue after I saw the obgyn again. I met my husband there with tears in my eyes. It was back. The same size as before the surgery I had just had 6 weeks prior. He told me at the office that I should go see a Reproductive Endocrinologist. So cold. He did call me later, I figured he cared and was calling to see if I was alright. Wrong! Here’s what he said (yes, three years went by and I can still hear him), “I did everything right during surgery”. Seriously, that’s what he said.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, laparoscopy and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

