RE #3

Right after my laparotomy, my original gyno referred me to the reproductive endocrinologist HE thought I should go to, number 3!

I made the appointment one month after surgery, my husband by my side as always, and my large stack of blood work and surgical reports. RE #3 basically poo-pooed the thought of an immune issue and told us that wasn’t what they do there. But other than that comment, I liked him. So, I got yet another exam, ultrasound and day 3 bloods, all routine now. What was new, was the recommendation of an HSG (Hysterosalpingogram) to check my fallopian tubes. I didn’t think I needed that as my original gynecologist was just “in” there, so I called him to ask and he said, “I had your tubes in my hands, they’re fine”. He never put the dye through them though.

All of these tests are time specific. Day 3 bloods and ultrasound, Day 5-7 saline sono, Day 9-12 HSG, Day 14 ovulation, Day 21 EB, etc.

The HSG was done in the hospital radiology department on July 29th. No anesthesia! It was day 11 of my next cycle. That was painful. A speculum in there, with a catheter and dye, then they ask you to turn on your side, each side. Really, the RE could have been a little gentler. I felt like I had a UTI for a few days after, so I was put on antibiotics.

They were blocked, of course. I was told that, it’s possible the right one isn’t that bad and could be surgically opened. No evidence of hydrosalpinx (fluid in the tubes, rendering them useless and possibly toxic) in the right, slight hydrosalpinx in the left.

The RE said there was some evidence showing that the fluid in these tubes could be toxic to an embryo in the uterus, so the tubes should just come out, or be tied (surgery). However, he also said that it’s not conclusive, so we should go ahead and try IVF. But, before we go forward with that, I needed another saline sono, (day 5-7) to make sure that the fibroids didn’t grow or if there were any polyps. Also, he explained that it would help get the measurement for the embryo transfer in the future. Joy. Oh and yes, I need an endometrial biopsy on day 21, or one week after ovulation, which I had yet to pinpoint to a specific date every month. I did OPK, checking my BBT, and the signs. It was always different. Yup, another month went by. EB done on August 11th and it was very uncomfortable. Nothing found, except my cyst was back again.

Finally we were ready to start the IVF cycle, without insurance. So we ordered the drugs we needed and a couple of them were donated, but we left a credit card on file. Next was a class on injections. I knew how to give injections to animals, but it was a great class, the nurses there were awesome. We showed up for the cycle with our wedding gift money to pay for it on day 1.

Normal HSG with free spilling fluid below, and the other picture has blocked fallopian tubes

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, hope and love, hydrosalpinx, infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

