Which do you prefer, happy or sad?

I was sitting with my husband tonight after dinner, pondering if people like to read sad stories rather than happy stories. Yeah, most people seem to like it when you’re miserable. I mean, let’s face it, if you ask someone how they are, they say they’re great and had a wonderful day, do you care? Now, if they say, I am so depressed, I hate my life, I know I am more inclined to listen and hopefully help that person. Maybe I just irritate the person, but at least I care enough to listen. Of course, I am actually one of those people who like to listen to why that other person’s life is so great too, having recently figured out how to be happy for myself too.

When I hear a sad story, I feel like I am living it with the person, even if we aren’t close, even if it’s a stranger on the news, but I am that sensitive. I find myself tuning out the news some days and sometimes, I don’t even watch or listen to it. I have learned how to literally not hear it. I feel all of the time, sometimes, I feel like I feel too much. I probably do. My biggest problem is anything having to do with animals, dogs especially. I belong to a few groups on Facebook (rescues, German Shepherds, Poodles, etc) and when they post their rescues or emaciated dogs, I just cry. I wish I could save them all! So I figured, if I “Share” the picture or “post”, one of my “friends” could “share” it on their “wall” and then their “friends” could “share it on their “wall”, etc. Until some random angel comes and takes the pup! It’s the same way I feel about the tweets and posts about Endometriosis Awareness and Infertility. I was afraid to post too much about my “problems’ on Facebook, but now I realize that I should, for the same reasoning. It may help someone somewhere.

Now, when I hear a happy story, it makes me smile and be happy with that person. If someone is telling me about wedding plans, and all the fun stuff that goes with it, I am not only happy to hear it, I remember how great my wedding was (it really was perfect, cold, but perfect). I deal with a lot of people all day long and I honestly love when they have great stories to tell. Even though I still have lingering angry or sad feelings when I see a pregnant woman or hear about babies, I try very hard to remember how blessed those people truly are. There really isn’t much better than seeing a dad come in with his kid and you see that pride in their face, beautiful!

So here’s my happy story of the day.

I went to my doctor’s appoinment and my mom came with me. It was just to get a well check, before the surgery and for the year. It takes about 45 minutes to an hour to get there. I got to talk with my mom the whole time. We were looking at other cars on the road and saying what we liked and disliked about them. I am definitely more into cars than mom, but that’s OK. We got to talk about a bunch of things and we both had a good day. Thanks Mommy!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

