Deep excision Laparoscopy #1

It is a “highly specialized surgical excision technique,” which involves using cutting technique, not just freezing or burning off the adhesions, but actually cutting them out.  Also, some doctors, mine especially, does pelvic reconstructive surgery. Repairing function and locations of organs affected by endometriosis, such as the uterus, fallopian tubes, ovaries, bladder, recto-sigmoid colon and pouch of Douglas, to name a few.

We passed my anesthesiologist in the hallway on our way to the OR.   She came over to my gurneyside and immediately introduced herself to me and then turned on the computer.  We talked about my last surgeries and how I reacted poorly to some of them.  I told her the only time I wasn’t sick after was when I had Propofol.  No gas.  She told me she would do a Propofol drip. (Michael Jackson immediately came to mind – how he died). So I said, I don’t want to be like MJ.  Then it turned from me being so anxious, I could hardly breathe to me laughing so hard I could hardly breathe.  She said, ‘Don’t worry, I won’t Beat It,  I’ll Be There, it will be as Easy as ABC”. OMG I loved her and felt so secure.  We got into the OR and she gave me the Versed and I was out cold. Surgery was about 4 & 1/2 hours long.  I woke up with a urinary catheter, compression stockings and much less pain than before I went in.  The nurses put Vaseline on my lips to prevent chapping and were wonderful.  I remember walking to the pre-op room with the usual shooting pains down my legs and the back  and belly pain, that morning, now it was gone! I had a urinary catheter because my bladder was accidentally nicked because it was on the left side of my abdomen (it’s supposed to be in the middle below the uterus).  My uterus was on my right side.  He removed my left fallopian tube, but managed to save my ovaries. He tested the right tube and it was clear.  He separated my uterus from my bladder and intestines, reconstructed my pouch of Douglas (it was obliterated, that explained a lot of the pain), and he cut out a lot of my adhesions and the tremendous amount of scar tissue along my incision line from the laparotomy, that was part of the surgery that took the longest.  He said I bled a lot.  I thought that was odd because I have a clotting disorder, but then I realized I had been popping advil like it was candy.  Hence, the compression stockings were needed. I was having some discomfort with the catheter, the next morning, so I called in and my doctor told me to come right in. It was on the way home from the hospital anyway.  The girls said that they were shocked to see me walking around after hearing how much damage the endometriosis had caused.  When he showed us the pictures of my insides, it looked like a bomb went off in there.  A big mess.   My cyst had been attached to everything again, pulling and pushing my organs around and then fixing them into place. The plan was to heal up and get ready for surgery number two. I went back for a check up after the surgery the following week to get my catheter out and once more before we booked #2.  The next laparoscopy was set for my twin rescue poodles’ birthday, September 27, 2012. Here’s another picture by my hubby

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

