Real help finallly found

After a week of arguing with my patient husband about why I didn’t like those doctors, we saw Dr, K. It was the day after Easter and I wasn’t in too much pain. We got to the city early, so we grabbed brunch and walked to the appointment. I brought my stack of medical records from all surgeries, including the endoscopy and colonoscopy reports and I even brought my immunity blood work. He looked through my records and sorted what he felt he needed to keep and then talked to my husband and I, about my symptoms. Then we discussed the infertility issues. After a while, it was time for the exam and ultrasound. We met back in the office. I’ll never forget what he said. First, he drew a picture of a woman’s normal anatomy for my husband. Then he drew mine. Without even seeing what was there. He told us that my uterus was bent and to the right, my cyst was pushing everything that way. That I probably had adhesions on my pelvic ligaments. Without looking. My husband and I started mentioning IVF again and he looked us in the eyes and said, “first, we get quality of life back.” I booked my surgery that day. I didn’t care what it would cost or when it was, even where it was. He cared about me. He didn’t care, at that moment, if I had children, he truly wanted me to be pain free. He knew it was our wish to have a child someday, but he said it would have to wait. The damage was significant due to 3 surgeries that didn’t address the endometriosis. 3! Three times they poked holes or cut me open, adding more scar tissue and adhesions. He explained that the deep excision surgery is done laparoscopically and that I would require at least two surgeries to clean up 2 years of growth. Growth that was accelerated by the hormones used in IVF. My first surgery was scheduled for May 24, 2012, exactly one year to the day (Thursday before Memorial Day) of my laparotomy. Yes, he is out of network too, but suddenly I didn’t care as much about the money. Thank god my parents helped us out!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

