The (Scary) surgical summary of excision #2 (September 2012)

From May until September, I had mostly pain-free days. I did have the exact same pains as before the surgery, but only during my periods in August and September. June was fabulous, in July, I had worsening cramps, by August, the leg pain returned with a vengeance.  But the back pain, general aches and pains, and overall fatigue, only happened during that time of the month.  I still had to go to the bathroom frequently, my bladder has always been weak.

So, off to excision surgery #2.  I’ve already written about my experience.  Here is the medical data. I’ve capitalized the new findings.

Preoperative Diagnosis:  Chronic Pelvic Pain, ADVANCED stage IV endometriosis, uterine fibroids, pelvic adhesions and menorrhagia.

Postoperative Diagnosis:

1. Stage IV deep nodular endometriosis and ADENOMYOSIS located on the posterior uterine wall area, rectosigmoid colon area, rectovaginal septum, bilateral pararectal spaces, bilateral uterosacral ligament area and bilateral peri-ureteral space.

Procedure: laparoscopy, deep excision, extensive lysis of adhesions, enterolysis, bilateral PELVIC WALL DISSECTION and bilateral OVARIANOLYSIS, bilateral ureterolysis

2. Left and RIGHT ovarian chocolate cysts, subserosal fibroid anterior component, and patent right fallopian tube.

Procedure: BILATERAL ovarian CYSTECTOMIES

3. Extensive pelvic adhesions, including completely obliterated pouch of Douglas (again), BILATERAL OVARIES STUCK TO THE BILATERAL PELVIC SIDEWALL AREA AND COMPLETE OBLITERATION OF POSTERIOR UTERINE WALL, WITH ATTACHMENT OF RECTOSIGMOID COLON, OMENTAL ADHESIONS INTO THE ANTERIOR ABDOMINAL WALL, and menorrhagia, pending pathological diagnosis.

Procedure: Reverse EXCISION OF RECTOVAGINAL SEPTUM endometriosis, DISC EXCISION OF RECTOSIGMOID COLON AREA endometriosis, re-creation of obliterated pouch of Douglas.  OPERATIVE LAPAROSCOPY MYOMECTOMYx1 with UTERINE RECONSTRUCTION, chromopertubation, application of Evicel and Surgicel. Diagnostic hysteroscpy with D and C.

While reading the actual description of the surgery, I have to distance myself a little. This is horrific!

“FINALLY ABLE TO DETACH THE RECTOSIGMOID COLON FROM THE POSTERIOR VAGINAL WALL,” and later he mentions a “CEMENTED LEFT SIDE PELVIC WALL…,DEEP NODULAR RECTOVAGINAL SEPTUM ENDOMETRIOSIS…, FIMBRIOLYSIS, ONE LARGE FIBRIOD WAS PROTRUDING   ON THE ANTERIOR ASPECT OF THE UTERUS PRESSING ON THE BLADDER. ”

The biopsies were more than just the endometriosis this time. I know have ADENOMYOSIS, BENIGN OVARIAN TISSUE WITH ENDOMETRIOSIS AND CALCIFICATIONS, ADENOMATOID TUMOR (from my uterus), Right ovary BENIGN LUTEINIZED CYST,  Endocervix-CERVICAL TISSUE WITH ACUTE AND CHRONIC CERVICITIS.

I’m feeling nauseous now. I hope this helps someone somewhere!

 

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

