This month’s Excision surgery March 2013

Happy Endometriosis Awareness Month! It may be over, but I hope to continue to educate and help others with this terrible, invisible illness.
This last surgery has changed my life (so far). It has been 17 days and I feel great. I’m still a little bloated and need to start exercising STAT! I will begin by walking around town after work tomorrow. My sneakers are by the door already!
Here is my surgical report from the 14th (it’s much shorter).
Preoperative diagnosis: Advanced endometriosis, right hydrosalpinx, and infertility
Postoperative Diagnosis: Severe pelvic adhesions and endometriosis located in the left broad ligament area and left pelvic sidewall area, hemorrhagic right corpus luteum cyst and right severe hydrosalpinx.
Procedure: Operative laparoscopy with multiple excision of STAGE II endometriosis and extensive lysis of adhesions, including enterolysis and left bilateral pelvic wall dissection, right salpingectomy and application of Evicel and Interceed.

“Patient’s uterus appears to be slightly retroflexed and due to this patient’s multiple previous surgeries (3 more before I met Dr.K), posterior cul-de-sac was obliterated and there is a significant amount of adhesions located between the omentum and rectosigmoid colon and posterior aspect of the uterus (again).”  There were more adhesions on my left ovary and sidewall. At least it went down to stage II endometriosis from stage IV, but it was still located on my left side broad ligament and round ligament areas.

Biopsies: Hemorrhagic corpus luteum cyst, peritoneum from the broad ligament-Changes suggestive of SECONDARY (what?) ENDOMETRIOSIS, FOCAL DYSTROPHIC CALCIFICATION. Whatever that means.

I did have major pain on my left side before the surgery and the sciatica was coming back and I had back pain too.  I don’t have either right now.  I am optimistic that this will be the last surgery for a couple of years. I fear the next one would be a hysterectomy to rid me of Adenomyosis at least.  I know it’s not a cure for Endometriosis.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

