Anticipation for next week

It is approximately 5 or 6 days away from our IVF cycle start. The anticipation has begun. We are excited, scared, nervous and looking forward to it, all at the same time. We were talking about the first IVF cycle this afternoon and again at dinner. The one thing we learned was to ice before the injections. It definitely helped with the progesterone injections during our FET (frozen cycle), so we will ice before every one of them (lovenox, progesterone, follistim and ganorelix). Oh boy, that’s a lot of icing and I can’t eat it!
Yes, I’m nervous. We’ve waited over a year to try this again. I now have one full ovary and not much left of the other one. Even with 2 full ovaries, they only got 10 mature eggs, 8 fertilized and only 3 made it to 5 days or what they call blastocyst. So, yes this makes me nervous. Not just that, but it is my main concern for the moment. The other thing or things on my mind, medications, lots of medications. Will they work? Do they contain gluten, wheat, or milk? Will I have a reaction? Will this really be the last time? Will our last embryo make the thaw? Just in case we need to use it, will it live? I could really drive myself crazy with all of the what if’s and why’s.
Here’s what is going through my mind at the moment; I am feeling great. I’m doing better on the new diet, gluten free, wheat free, soy free, and milk free. I’ve added acupuncture to prepare myself for pregnancy, I plan on having acupuncture the day before and after the transfer (I’ve heard that helps). I’m mentally trying to prepare myself for the stress of an IVF cycle while working in a building all by myself. I’ve had my free consult (that I won during a twitter chat) with a great Life Coach and I wish I could afford to talk to her every week. She was wonderful and knows what I’m about to go through. (Maybe I can find a way. It’s really not that expensive. I may blog about that in the future).
I’ve lost almost 10lbs in a week, it’s mostly the bloating and water that was in my belly I think. Not only can I wear my pants for work, they’re actually loose on me (I was wearing yoga pants every day). I still miss bread and saltines, but this life change has really helped me. I don’t have indigestion during the day anymore, no gas of bloating, I don’t feel gross, my head is pretty clear and I have more energy.
This time next week, I will be starting Femara, for 5 days. Next is the lovenox and prednisone and three days later, Follistim. I think I’m actually looking forward to the bonding time. See, I’m a wimp and can’t inject myself. My husband has given me all of the shots. He’s good too!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, allergist, anxiety, embryos, endometriosis awareness, endometriosis diet, food allergy, hope and love, infertility, infertility in the workplace, invisible illness, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Anticipation for next week

  1. For me it was topical lidocaine cream @ the 5% (wipe off) then ice down – inject shots then apply heat – it was the only process that seemed to make it better for the next round of injections.

    But best of luck on this round!

  2. Wannabemom says:

    Best of luck to you. It’s all just a big crapshoot and a real exercise in letting go of control, isn’t it. I did acupuncture with my IVFs and FET. With all of them, I did a treatment before and after transfer… on the same day as the transfer. Don’t know if that’s possible for you in terms of timing and location. Who even knows if it really works?! But at least it’s relaxing!

  3. winnie says:

    well whaddaya know! I have a cycle buddy!!! I’m having a fresh transfer tomorrow at noon. All the best to you this time around!
    Love, Winnie.

  4. Eating Pineapple says:

    Good luck to you! Can’t wait to hear how everything goes!

  5. Samantha says:

    Best of luck I really wish you the best, you really deserve it you have fought so hard. Well done on sticking to the gluten and milk, soy free I am trying to do this also. I’ve been reading all your posts when I can.

    I pray that all us women can be mothers whatever way possible, xxx

Leave a Reply

