Partial Hysterectomy?

A partial hysterectomy. It’s still going on in my head.
I heard it two weeks ago from a nurse when I was giving her my surgical history at the new obgyn office. I told her my left tube was removed in May 2012 and my right was removed in March of this year. And she replies, “so, you’ve had a partial hysterectomy”. I said, “no, I just had my tubes removed”.
Holy crap, did I have a partial hysterectomy? Not really. If you google partial hysterectomy, you’ll read that it is when just the uterus is removed. Yes, partial hysterectomy in the sense that I can no longer get pregnant the old fashioned way. Ok.
Someone had written on a post on Facebook (I think) that removing your tubes causes a decrease in ovarian stimulation, due to decreased blood flow. I can’t remember who wrote it or where it was written (I’m on a whole bunch of pages from endometriosis to infertility). I started to look for evidence if this since I hadn’t been told about that by my surgeon. I did find a few articles in the med journals that support this. It can cause a higher FSH and lower ovarian response to stimulation. (This Is not what I want to hear as I only have part of my left ovary left, glad I still have my right one). And I’ve found reports that a salpingectomy does not compromise ovarian function. I could totally drive myself crazy reading everything out there. I mean, this is it. I’m putting my faith in this doctor, who had helped my cousin and has helped many others take home their babies.
I’ll be getting my period in the next couple of days and then the cycle will begin. I’m not looking forward to the long drive, the blood work, ultrasounds (transvaginal) and our consult with my immune results. I get very nervous before ultrasounds and blood work. But I am looking forward to giving it our all to get pregnant and for a full term pregnancy.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, anxiety, embryos, endometriosis awareness, hope and love, hydrosalpinx, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, laparoscopy, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

