Potato chips

It’s been a week since I quit eating bread. I haven’t weighed myself this week, but as of Sunday, I was down almost 10lbs. I’m pretty sure it was water weight, the bathroom trips have lessened in the last few days, thabk goodness, I thought I was getting a bladder infection. I haven’t had much gas or other bowel issues at all. I feel pretty good. My mind is definitely clearer and I seem to have more energy.
I really haven’t changed that much with my diet, other than the obvious, cutting out bread. I’m still eating pretty much the same, I’m just adding in gluten/wheat/dairy free breadcrumbs (ok, the breadcrumbs I used to fillet, tasted like there was sand in them, but when mixed in meatball style, not too bad). I tried the Udi white bread toasted, not too bad, but not the old bread. Seriously? I was laughing when i pulled out a piece of bread. These are mini loaves of bread for three times the cost, so I will be eating this sparingly.
I did try to make beef stew last night. I usually add in regular flour to thicken the gravy. What a disaster. I bought potato flour (which states right on the front of the package that its good for thickening soups and gravy, ha) I took a measuring cup, put water in it and added the “flour” as usual. Oh My! It was kind of gross, the flour mixed a little and then became larger clumps. My poor hubby, he was missing the thick gravy. I have since learned about Xanthun gum and maybe even corn starch, or maybe I’ll just use the regular flour and make it just for my husband. Which brings me to the latest diet news. I seem to be sensitive to red meat too. (The endometriosis diet does mention avoiding red meat, along with everything else, including dairy). My hubby and I went out to eat the other night. I really wanted to order the chicken cutlet and mashed potatoes (my favorite meal of all time), but there’s milk or heavy cream in mashed potatoes and I’m pretty sure those breadcrumbs weren’t gluten free:-(
I ordered a burger without the bun and fries. Boring but safe. Or so I thought. It must’ve been marinated in something, it tasted incredible, it was so good. However, was eating Tums like they were m&ms (oh how I miss m&ms, it’s been over 2 years since I had any chocolate). The same thing happened last night with my stew. I payed for it this morning and my tummy was not happy until this afternoon. Luckily, I have my own private bathroom in my little office at work.
I’ll be stopping by the grocery store on my way home again. I need to refill my potato bin, I guess I’ll get some chicken and turkey for tonight and tomorrow night. Hopefully, I can find a good head if cauliflower, or I’ll settle for frozen at this point.
Now, good news! I found the gluten/wheat/milk and casein free pretzels and will try those tonight as long as my tummy isn’t assaulted again. If I could just stop eating so many potato chips. I was never a big fan of chips, but it is nice to eat a familiar food. One big bag of potato chips in 3 days, that’s ok, right?

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, allergist, endometriosis diet, food allergy, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato chips

  1. Steph Mignon says:

    I too am obsessed with potato chips and binged out on them just the other night! They are SOOOOO good. Like you, I’m gluten-free, but luckily didn’t cook with flour much so I haven’t missed it in that respect. I find myself snack on flax see crackers with peanut butter because at least those have fiber and protein unlike some of the gluten-free cracker versions. They’re definitely not good plain though. Bleh. Good for you for cutting out gluten, it certainly has made a difference on my weight and pain and I hope it does for you too!

Leave a Reply

