The plan (underway)

Friday, we went in for day 3 bloods and an ultrasound. It was very busy. We had a bit of a wait, which I didn’t mind. However, my mind was going crazy. What if I don’t have any reserve left? What if I don’t respond to the meds? What if they find a cyst again? I was doing the what it’s again. So, I started watching the TV. But I was restless.
I was called in for the blood work first, piece of cake. It was only one tube. Then, I went back out to wait a little bit more. I quickly hurried to the bathroom. I always have to go when I’m nervous, but I also had my period. I had been painful again, for the first time since the last surgery, I had the leg pain down my thighs and the cramps happened on Friday. Lucky me.
I was called into the exam room almost as soon as I got out of the bathroom. It was the usual. Undress from the waist down, the doctor will be in, in a few minutes (half hour). I was incredibly anxious. I dreaded that there was a cyst or worse. I noticed my battery on my cell was now at 16%, talk about feeling anxious, I had never let it get that low. I was hoping it would last longer. I was texting with my husband (who was in the waiting room) and my mom.
The doctor walked into the room and asked me if I was ready! I said I was as ready as I could be. He performed the ultrasound and at first it was just the usual, uncomfortable feeling as he was looking at my right ovary (that’s my good one, it’s a whole ovary). He was pleased. He said I have some good “antrals” already started. I had no idea what an antral was. He explained its the start of follicles. Already!!! Then, he went looking for my left ovary. It was painful! There were some black blobs on the screen and he confirmed that I did indeed have no tubes, because it really did look just like a hydrosalpinx. Apparently, there is some fluid in my belly, just hanging out. He thinks its the endometriosis and adhesions. (It never ends). He had a hard time finding my left ovary. It was small and there didn’t seem to be any evidence of any “antrals” on that one.
He agreed that we start the cycle that day and said that the nurse will go over my calendar with me. I did remind him that he did some more immune testing to check a few more things. He said he look and let the nurse know what’s up. Ok. Ok.
The nurse called me into the room where they usually pull the blood to go over our schedule. OMG. She said that my NK (natural killer) cells were NORMAL! I asked her to repeat that for me. “You’re Natural Killer cells are normal, there a 5 now, which means no intralipids now”. Yippee. However, if they start going up during pregnancy, I have to get the IVIG infusion, which costs around $4000 and is usually not covered by insurance plans. Did I mention this doctor is also out of network? Yes, they all are. At least my deductibles have been met.
She started going over the schedule. That night I am to take 10mg of prednisone and 5mg of Femara (2 pills). I do this (along with my prenatals) for 3 days. Which is where I am right now.
Tomorrow morning, I start to take a baby aspirin and get a shot of Lovenox in my belly. I have been dreading this Lovenox for a while. I’ve heard it stings, burns and bruises! I’m sure this is correct, since my cousin, a coworker and the nurse all agreed it does. We read over the directions tonight, grabbed the pre-filled syringe and the sharps container and put it in the bedroom. I have a cotton ball and the alcohol ready. My hubby will get the ice pack and stab me in the morning. And then I’ll take the baby aspirin and cry, just kidding (I hope). Then I’ll go about my day at work, come home and prepare dinner. I’ll take my prenatal and vitamin D before I eat, the prednisone when I’m done. Then it’s time for (drumroll) Follistim! This is the big one, the one that will propel those eggies to start brewing and growing. This will be my week; Lovenox (blood thinner) and in the morning, synthroid an hour before I eat my breakfast, (then I can take the baby aspirin), vitamins, prednisone with dinner, Follistim after dinner and then the Femara before bed. I do this until Friday, when I go in for the follicle count and update. I will be adding in acidophilus mid week to prepare for the antibiotics. Yes there’s more coming. The Ganorelix injection will start over the weekend to prevent me from ovulating. My husband and I will be put on doxycycline before the egg retrieval, I think. Then we do the HCG (the trigger) and then comes the fun part. Suppositories of another antibiotic and the Estrace (estrogen/progesterone), I’m just wondering where the applicators are? They didn’t send any. There will also be progesterone injections. There’s also a 5mg tablet of Valium in the bag, not sure I can take that since 600mg of ibuprofen knocks me out, and I’d really rather be awake for the transfer. I do hope we have 2 to transfer. I’m still holding out hope that our last embryo (frozen) will survive the thaw. We just need two embryos to get into my uterus safely and suppress my immune system enough to let them grow.
We had a little issue with my prescription plan. They want us to use a mail order pharmacy. But I needed to get these meds by tonight for Monday morning. So after me calling Friday and my husband calling yesterday, we got what we needed, but we had to pay for it. The doctor has to call and approve the Follistim, HCG and Ganorelix. Yes, the most important ones. So they can mail them to us by Wednesday. So I’ll be calling everyone in the morning. I may write a separate blogpost about that or I may choose to forget it as stress is not good for me at this moment in time.
I’m exhausted just thinking about it all. I’m pretty sure it will all be worth it. So, fingers crossed it works.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, embryos, endometriosis awareness, hope and love, infertility, infertility in the workplace, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, positive thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The plan (underway)

  1. Samantha says:

    I really pray that this works for you, that’s a lot of meds to be taking and you are very brave. It all sounds good and I’m pleased your ultrasound went well and was different to your previous ones. I’m thinking of you and take care of yourself xx

Leave a Reply

