Pill Poppin Pin Cushion

This whole time, while planning for the IVF, I knew there would be many drugs to help me be able to get pregnant an satay pregnant. I knew about the prednisone and the femara, the follistim, Ganorelix and lovenox, the HCG trigger and the progesterone butt shots. Then the nurse told us about the baby aspirin, estrace, doxycycline, Valium and clindamycin. Due to the antibiotics, I definitely need to take acidophilus (to help prevent what inevitably happens when we take antibiotics) with my prenatals and vitamin D. My issue with all of these drugs is my stomach and the acid that likes to visit me when I take pills!!! Every time.
I really hate taking pills, I have such a mental build up before taking them. Heck, I was having panic attacks last month because of these drugs I have to take. Thankfully, I haven’t had any bad side effects or reactions, thank god.
The prednisone tablet has a bad taste to it. I put it in my mouth and grab my water and already gag because of the taste, I usually chase it down with potato chips, but tonight I think I’ll take it half was through dinner instead. I don’t have any side effects from it. Well, except for the peeing a lot! I actually seem to get tired after I take it (I react differently than most people to meds, Xanax makes me hyper).
The Femara, 2 little pills at bedtime. The label says it may cause dizziness and not to operate heavy machinery (wasn’t planning on it anyway). I didn’t have any issues until the second night when I woke up and was sweating. I’m usually always cold and the window was open. I couldn’t cool down for almost an hour. Then again, it could’ve been a one time flush, because last night, when I was prepared, I was freezing. The temps did drop outside. I have to say, though, as soon as I started the Femara (Friday night), my cramps and leg pain were gone! So, when an RE or doctor offers it, instead of Lupron, it may be worth considering. I didn’t want drugs to treat my Endo, but when all of this is done, I may reconsider. Hopefully, I won’t need to for a long time.
This morning we added the Lovenox injections to my belly. I took my generic synthroid at 6:10, and prepared for injection at 6:20 (before hubby goes to work, beside he has to do it-teamwork). I iced it just before and I didn’t feel the tiny needle, but about half way through, I felt the burning. I was told not to rub it afterwards, like you usually do after the hormone injections, as it will cause more bruising. I’m serious, it stung for about a half hour afterwards. So, not too bad. I’ll be taking the baby aspirin with breakfast.
Tonight we start the Follistim. I think we will use my inner thigh for this one, I have a thing about shooting all of these different things in one area, especially my poor belly that has had numerous surgeries already. Anyway, it’s twice the amount we used to get the 3 embryos from the first IVF, hoping we get the same results. I’m looking forward to starting the stimming process. I go back to the doctor on Friday morning for the first follicle check and blood work. Fingers crosse we do well! For now, I’m just feeling like a pill poppin pin cushion.
Have a great day!
The story in how we got all of our medication will be written later after its concluded (still needing doctor approval for the most important ones).

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, anxiety, embryos, endometriosis awareness, food allergy, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, positive thinking, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pill Poppin Pin Cushion

  1. katherinea12 says:

    That does sound like a lot of medications! Hope everything keeps going well.

Leave a Reply

