Quick, there’s a new plan!

I seem to “know” things. There was a good reason behind my panic to get all of my medications early. I felt that I needed to have the Cetrotide (was supposed to be the Ganorelix) and the Novarel (HCG) soon. I was freaking out not having all of my meds ahead of time and now I know why.
Early this morning at 6, I got my ice pack and placed it on my belly and I felt it. That twinge, on the right side and then it passed. I told my husband that I think my ovary is talking, which usually means ovulation is coming! Hubby gave me the shot of Lovenox and went to work. I got ready and left to head west and picked up my mom to accompany me on the long drive. Thank god I did. I always need the moral support when I go to most doctors appointments. This one was no different.
After the blood was drawn, I had my ultrasound. The doctor does his own ultrasounds, which is wonderful and much different than the clinic I went to for the first IVF. The doctor shows me what he’s looking at while he performs the ultrasound. I love that. There they were, follicles! Pretty big ones! My right ovary had four, my left (boy was it painful trying to find it) had maybe one. I only have a tiny bit of the left ovary left anyway, so one follicle is more than I thought I would have. I’m a little disappointed with four on the right side, but all we need is one good egg. He said my uterine lining was a little skewed due to my adenomyosis, but it should be ok. Then he checked blood flow to the uterus and I remember he said something like, “hmmm, there’s less flow on the right, we’ll address that when we get there”. That didn’t sound too promising, but we’ll see what happens. And then I heard, “give yourself the Ganorelix (he meant Cetrotide) when you get home, this morning. You’ll trigger tomorrow and the retrieval will be Monday and I’ll see you tomorrow. The nurse will go over the new schedule with you”. WHAT!?!
My four follicles are 18,19 and 20mm already. Ready to rock and roll, as long as I don’t ovulate. He did say that I had responded pretty fast and it is a possibility that the eggs may not be the best quality. Well, there’s always our not so great quality frozen embryo all alone in their lab.
The panic sunk in…
I have to give myself a shot? Hell no! I was texting my hubby like crazy. I would drive to wherever he was working to get him to do it. My mom was texting my dad to see if he’d meet us at my house to do it, if we needed him to. My mom and I can totally jab you with a needle, but we’re total wimps when it comes to doing it to ourselves.
I told the nurse I was petrified to give myself the shot and how I wished they had one there she could give me. She actually went to look for it and after a few minutes (of me praying) she came back and gave me the shot. I am so grateful.
So, here’s the new plan:
Today, got the Cetrotide (to prevent ovulation) in the morning. I comtinue the prednisone. My husband and I start taking doxycycline, twice a day, for the next week. The Follistim is decreased to 300iu and I stop the blood thinners. Tomorrow morning I get the Cetrotide again before our appointment and I still take the prednisone and antibiotic and the Follistim goes down to 150iu. Then at exactly 9pm, we do the trigger shot (HCG/Novarel). Then I add in another antibiotic that is in suppository form (oh joy). I actually have to pee on a stick on Sunday. I have to take a home pregnancy test to make sure it shows pregnant, that the HCG is in my system. I kind of felt a stabbing in my chest when the nurse told me to take a hpt. I felt like screaming, “but I don’t have any tubes, how could I be pregnant?” Oh, it will be positive, if it’s not, there’s a problem.
My egg retrieval is scheduled for Monday at 7:30am.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, anxiety, embryos, hope and love, infertility, infertility in the workplace, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, positive thinking, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick, there’s a new plan!

  1. katherinea12 says:

    Good luck with the retrieval! Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

