Tomorrow’s retrieval

I have to say, I’ve been trying not to compare the last IVF we did in September of 2011 to this one. Really, there is no comparison. The first one was not pleasant at all. I felt terribly bloated, uncomfortable, the shots hurt (we didn’t know to ice before), I gained 15 pounds because of eating through the nausea and I had so much gas, I thought I’d explode. Yes, this was before the egg retrieval. They had me come in for blood work and ultrasound everyday. I was on Follistim and menopur, then Ganorelix for 4 days before I triggered with HCG on a Saturday night. My estrogen level was over 1900, they got 11 eggs, 10 mature and 8 fertilized. 3 made it to blast.
This cycle I’ve felt great, until today. Today, I am very nauseous. I’m hoping its the HCG in my system from the trigger shot last night. I have to take a pregnancy test today to make sure it’s in my system. I’m pretty sure it is. I’m just lying in bed and taking it easy, until I pack my bag to go to NYC.
Today I get a break from injections. I’m still taking the prednisone, antibiotics and prenatals of course.
My lower abdomen is a little crampy at times, I know it’s my follicles ready to go tomorrow. I’m praying for 6 eggs!
At my (second) visit yesterday, my estrogen was only 266 (totally normal because it was a Femara cycle) and there were more follicles than on Friday. (Yippeeee). I think I counted 7 or 8. There were the original 4 bigger follies on my right, which, on friday were measuring 18/19mm and yesterday were measuring 19, 20, and two at 21mm, ready to go! There was possibly one on the left side that was at 15mm on friday, it’s hard (and painful) to tell because of the endometriosis in there. He mentioned two or three more on the right that are 14 and 15mm’s and maybe another one on the left side too! So, I’m definitely feeling better about the numbers of follicles now. I was googling (not always good to do) last night and read that the estrogen level before retrieval is proportioned to the amount of follicles. That for every 150-200, it equals one mature egg. I did the math. I had over 1900 last time and they got 10 mature eggs. It’s about right. Instead of instantly panicking, I googled the same thing with the use of femara and there it read, 25-50 per mature egg. Woohoo, at almost 300, thats 5 or 6 then, right? Let’s hope so and that at least half fertilize! I’m off to POAS!
It was positive, I knew that from the nausea, egg retrieval is on for tomorrow at 7am.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, egg retrieval, embryos, endometriosis awareness, hope and love, infertility, infertility in the workplace, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, positive thinking, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tomorrow’s retrieval

  1. newtoivf says:

    Lots of luck, hope it all goes smoothly xx

Leave a Reply

