Let the waiting begin…

This morning I actually slept until 7:20, that’s late for me. I walked the dogs in the rain and got ready for our big day. We drove our dogs to my parents house and had a fabulous breakfast with them. It was great. Bacon and eggs. Yum. Then we departed for the city.
It was a rainy, dark and cold day. The expressway was crowded as usual. We actually got a parking spot practically in front of the building. Which was awesome, because the last thing I want to do is walk for blocks after the transfer. We were so happy. Of course it costs $3.50 an hour to park there via meter, but we were delighted Andover we went to get some lunch. Yes, we ate again. We found a great place just before Madison Avenue, Schnipper’s. they had a gluten free menu. It consisted of a hamburger on a gluten free bun and fries, so that’s what I had. The timing was perfect. We were done about a half hour before the transfer time they gave us. Perfect! We went up to the office and I went to the bathroom and started drinking again.
I wasn’t too thrilled with one woman there, who was on her phone for a long time, really lady? C’mon! I was nervous and trying to be relaxed and calm and pray a little before my transfer. I was happy when she finally got off the phone. But then she started talking a mile a minute to her husband. Needless to say, I was relieved when she was called into the back. In hindsight, maybe that was her way of dealing with her nerves, she was having her transfer too. Her phone rang while she was in the procedure room too!
We got called in the back. I got to change into that pretty maroon gown again, but this time I got to keep my shirt on! I put my booties on over my socks and sat on the gurney. My hubby ran downstairs to put more money in the meter. When he got back, I gave him his gown, booties and hat (we put our hats on right before going into the room). Then the embryologist waived as he walked by the room, so I called him over and asked if he had good news for us. He said “good and bad”.
Surprisingly, our last embryo made it through the thaw! Unfortunately, one of our fresh ones did not. Turns out the original immature one fizzled out overnight. I guess slow and steady wins the race after all. Well, lets hope so. He did say, the fresh embryo was almost an A+, with no fragmentation.
We finally got into the room and there were three tv screens. One had my name, birth date and a circle with two dots in it, (which was the actual petrie dish they were in). The next was the ultrasound image screen and the third had the magnification of out two embryos. Wow, there they were. We saw as the embryologist sucked up the two dots and then on the second screen, we saw them go in my uterus. Naturally, they had a difficult finding the catheter in my uterus, probably because of the adenomyosis or Endo. We saw the streak at the top of the screen, in my uterus.
After the procedure, the embryologist gave us a picture if our embryos and my uterus with the streak. Then he said they were a dollar each. So I told my hubby to pay up, then he said he’d make a deal with us. As long as we send him a picture of our babies, the pictures are free. I love him!
I laid there for forty minutes. Finally, we got the ok to go. And I went. Straight to the bathroom. When we got into the car, I had a wonderful sensation in my belly, it was a warm feeling, for a few seconds. A good sign, I hope.
We went back to my folks house for dinner and a movie and my progesterone shot. Then we grabbed the dogs and twelve hours after we left this morning, we were home! Embryos on board! Now, the dreaded two week wait begins. Along with Estrace suppositories and the restarting of Lovenox and baby aspirin.
Tonight, I’m resting and praying.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in Embryo transfer, embryos, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, positive thinking, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Let the waiting begin…

  1. newtoivf says:

    Everything crossed for you, sending sticky vibes!

  2. megz says:

    I am praying like crazy for you!! stick little beans!!! I have a great feeling about this!!

  3. notwhenbutif says:

    Keeping everything firmly crossed for you (even my eyes if necessary!).

  4. Samantha says:

    Keeping everything crossed and wishing the best for you hun xx

Leave a Reply

