(Very) Last ditch effort?

I’m determined to try to get out of my funk. Baking this morning (attempting gluten free cake) and cleaning the house should help. And if you knew me, you’d know this is a big step for me, as the depression of infertility and endometriosis/adenomyosis, and its surgeries, has made me quite lazy. I need to be a better wife.

Anyway, I’ve been doing a lot of reading and thinking lately, while I’m down regulating.

Yes, down regulating = one more try.

I’m on the birth control pill and I have no fallopian tubes, if that isn’t a slap in the face,then, I don’t know what is.
I went off the pill five years ago this month, so, to be back on it, even for a little while, is irritating me. I hate pills and drugs in general, but I’ll take them if it means a possible baby in the end.

I feel like if we don’t at least try one more time (since last cycle just seemed doomed from getting the drugs to the quick stimming), we won’t be able to move on. That is what we will do if this IVF cycle fails again. I’m just hoping for a miracle. Either embryos that stick with me for nine months, or two extras, someone else could carry to term one day. Why is that so much to ask?

So, the new plan is the “Micro-Lupron Flare Protocol: Lupron and BCP are used for at least 10 days before stimulation. The micro-Lupron regimen uses a very small amount of Lupron (1/20 the usual dose) just 3 days before ovarian stimulation in order to release LH and FSH from the pituitary. Thus during the first 2-3 days of micro-Lupron, the ovaries are stimulated by pituitary FSH and LH (the flare effect). On the third day of micro-Lupron, medications containing FSH and LH are added to further augment the stimulation.
The micro-Lupron protocol was one of the first aggressive protocols introduced and over the years has helped many patients with low ovarian reserve to conceive their own children without resorting to donor eggs. Its main disadvantage is that LH is also released along with FSH, which theoretically can negatively impact egg development. However, several studies have demonstrated that some early LH is necessary for optimal development of follicles. The other disadvantages are the increased risk of premature ovulation near the end of the stimulation process due to minimal pituitary suppression, and the potential inhibition of BCP on ovarian response in patients with very low egg reserve (AMH < 0.5 ng/ml)."
I shortened up the description a little. I found it on Aggressive IVF protocols.

Then again, the Femara cycle, we just did is also on that page and it reads, ” However, for a patient who desires a last chance to use her own eggs, this protocol gives her a final opportunity before closure and moving on to donor eggs.” This quote makes me very nervous!!! Maybe that’s where the anxiety is coming from.

Anyway!

It’s Father’s Day! My dad is the best, my husband would be an awesome dad. Hubby takes such great care of me and the dogs. I wish he were a dad by now. It’s been 3 years of frustration and heartache. But he doesn’t tell me how he feels. That’s ok. He’ll let me know what he wants me to know. I just try and hug him when I can and let him know how much I love him and am here for him. Best friends forever!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, anxiety, caremark, dogs, embryos, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis, food allergy, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, laparoscopy, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (Very) Last ditch effort?

  1. newtoivf says:

    Best of luck honey, so hope this is your time x

  2. megz says:

    I am praying like no other that this next one does the trick!!!

  3. Thank you for sharing your heart. Its brave, encouraging (even when you feel discouraged), and I will try to remember you in my prayers. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

