Heal me Hashimoto’s

Again, I sit and wonder what to do. What could I possibly have to say after all that we’ve been through these last three plus years? I won’t bore you with the, why me’s and how come’s? Well at least not in this post.
The last week or so, I’ve been trying very hard to meditate, look within, for healing. I intend to heal myself so that I can help others. I think that’s my purpose.
How do I do that?
I read. I just downloaded two books and I have started two already. Multitasking at its finest. Really. But,
I’ll start by telling you about my main concern at the moment, my thyroid. I have Hashimoto’s thyroiditis. I’m still trying to understand all that it means. My body knows what it is doing. I have had issues starting as early as age 14, however, I started to feel its effects much more in the last few years as I’ve become more aware of everything in my body.
Signs and symptoms
Hashimoto’s thyroiditis very often results in hypothyroidism with bouts of hyperthyroidism. Symptoms of Hashimoto’s thyroiditis include Myxedematous psychosis, weight gain, depression, mania, sensitivity to heat and cold, paresthesia, chronic fatigue, panic attacks, bradycardia, tachycardia, high cholesterol, reactive hypoglycemia, constipation, migraines, muscle weakness, joint stiffness, menorrhagia, cramps, memory loss, vision problems, infertility and hair loss.” From the Wikipedia site in the link above.
I have most of these symptoms. I am definitely cold most of the time and I can’t tolerate heat anymore. I have panic attacks when I wake up. Seriously! What is that about? Paraesthesia, I’ve had for years. I’ll just get numbness and tingling in my face, hands and feet. I even had a full neurological work up, including a brain MRI and EMG and nerve conduction study.
I have the hypoglycemia as well. Which seems odd since both if my parents have type 2 diabetes. When I went to their house one day, before breakfast, they were measuring their blood sugar. I asked my Dad to check mine. Theirs was around 115-130, normal for medicated diabetics, mine was 66! It’s low. But I have to wait an hour after I take my levothyroxine before I can eat. So I make myself my decaf tea in the morning and add sugar. Which I’m not supposed to eat but I need it? Ugh.
The migraines suck! I not only do I get the usual migraine, where I lay in bed all day with a cold washrag on my forehead and eyes, wishing I had a sound proof darkroom instead and sleeping, but I also get ocular migraines, where I lose vision! Joy!
The fatigue has always been there. Last week, while I had a migraine on a beautiful summer Sunday, I went into the bedroom and slept for over 4 hours, I woke up, ate dinner and still slept through the night. I was too tired to wake up for my usual bathroom trip at 4 am. The next day, I fell asleep on the couch at 7:30pm and woke up to go to bed and slept thought the night. I guess I needed that.
The memory loss is getting scary. I need to remember my clients. It’s a vital part of my job. Brain fog is not a joke!
And of course, I have the infertility and period issues, as you all know.
Basically, most days I feel good, but every now and then I feel a tightness in my throat and my chest. I almost feel like someone’s got their hands around it and squeezes ever so slightly. This morning I had a little pang in my chest when I woke up and it turned into anxiety. I felt like I couldn’t breathe.
Speaking of heartburn. I read an interesting article about stomach acid. I started taking these enzymes that are supposed to aid in digestion. It really has helped tremendously. It’s not a cure. What I really have to do is address the thyroid issue.
I went to a integrative wellness nurse practitioner that my acupuncturist goes to for her Hashimoto’s. I’ll have to put that visit in another post. I’m exhausted.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in anxiety, Endometriosis, Hashimotos thyroiditis, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

