Integrative thyroid treatment? Part 1

I went to an Intergrative Nurse Practitioner about a month ago on the advice of my acupuncturist (who also suffers from Hashimoto’s). I wasn’t sure what to expect. But she’s helped her with her thyroid, I figure, it can’t hurt.
My husband drove me there, as usual. He wanted to go to Starbucks anyway, right?
We pulled into her driveway and I heard barking dogs. This, unlike most people, made me happy. Oh good, if for nothing else, she is a dog lover. Definitely more than one in there.
We went upstairs in her office to chat. I told her some of my history, I didn’t think we’d have time for all of it. I told her all of the important, related information.
Before I even had the appointment, I spoke to her on the phone and told her that I have Hashimoto’s and endometriosis. She said I’d probably be switched to a natural thyroid medication, iodine tablets and progesterone. Then she said “being on progesterone might make you get pregnant.” I laughed and quickly informed her that in my case, that would definitely be a miracle since I have no Fallopian tubes. This was all without seeing me.
She took some blood to test my hormones and gave me the box for my cortisol saliva test. In it were four tubes to spit in over the day. I was still weaning off the prednisone, so we thought waiting until a few weeks after would be good. I did that test two weeks ago.
The blood work came back the following week.

20130819-124835.jpg

20130819-124822.jpg
My T3 is on the low end, my TPO antibodies actually went up, my progesterone is pretty low, I have low DHEA and my testosterone is non existent.
She called in prescriptions for Nature Throid, progesterone cream (because there’s no way I’m taking another pill) and DHEA drops and I bought a bottle of Ioderal
I still haven’t taken anything. It’s fear again!
Lets start with iodine! I’ve read in numerous places that too much iodine can be very bad for someone with Hashimoto’s. I’ve also read, iodine can benefit your thyroid if you’re deficient. It goes around and around. I’m still researching.
But let me tell you how she tested my iodine level. The simplest test ever! She placed iodine on my arm. Where I won’t readily wash it off or sweat it off. She explained if it disappears by the next day, I am deficient. It disappeared with in four hours. I’m still afraid to take the Ioderal. Why?
Then the progesterone came in these prefilled syringes and I am to use .3cc/ml at a time. What if I squirt out too much! What am I afraid of? I was shooting 10mg/ml in my butt every night.
I was going to start on my Nature Throid this weekend, when I noticed it was 1.5 grains. That seemed a bit high(triple the dose high). So, I googled the conversion chart for Levothyroxine 50mcg and Nature Throid. Sure enough I’m only supposed to get half a grain. 0.5! I quickly emailed the NP and she said she would check with the owner of the compounding pharmacy and obviously not to take it. I was bummed. I finally got up the courage and this happens. Such is life!
The cortisol level came back too.

20130820-133754.jpg
Yeah, that’s low!
Oddly, I didn’t panic when she told me it was low, I already knew. But the more I read and looked into it, the more I began to feel panicked.
It’s a vicious cycle.

To be continued…

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in allergist, anxiety, Endometriosis, food allergy, Hashimotos thyroiditis, hope and love, infertility, integrative medicine, invisible illness, meditation, positive thinking and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

