Autoimmune disease sucks

Autoimmune disease sucks! I said it and I will repeat it. Autoimmune disease sucks! Big time.
My immunologist told me my hashimoto’s thyroiditis was caused by Lyme disease. Did I mention I had Lyme in 1995? Yeah.
My early twenties were lovely, just like my late thirties. At 21, I got mononucleosis right before I went away to school. The following year, (1995) I was bitten by an illusive tick (never saw it or had the bullseye rash) and was sick for a few months before finally being diagnosed with Lyme disease (which was in my spinal fluid), via lumbar puncture (spinal tap). It was in my central nervous system. I spent three days in the hospital. They all thought I had meningitis. Even my parents wore masks and gowns and probably booties. Leading up to my hospital stay, I was fine if I was on antibiotics, but as soon as I would finish them, I was back in bed unable to move. My doctor even asked me if I was on drugs! (Because all of the tests he did for Lyme disease were coming back negative). His assistant at the time asked me to put my chin to my chest. I couldn’t. She explained that I had two choices. 1. Go home and pack a bag and drive to the hospital or, 2. She’d call the ambulance. Um, I was so scared!
Then I think I had a good year after that, oh, except the panic attacks started up. My doctor sent me to a psychiatrist. He gave me a multiple choice test to see how depressed I was, talked to me for 10 minutes and wrote me a prescription for Paxil, an antidepressant. I wasn’t depressed I was anxious, but that’s how they “treat” it.
When I was 24, I got the shingles. Yup, the friggin shingles! On my face! I thought I had a runaway zit, but hen I got tremendous pain and nausea. My doctor shook his head in disbelief. So did I. I thought that was a disease only old people got! But there it was, under my lip on the left side, spreading and causing pain. I don’t remember much else, as I was on pain medication and, like all of them, I slept the whole time and I only took a half!
In here at some point I got pannus, I had blood vessels growing in my cornea. I couldn’t wear my contacts anymore and my glasses were thick and heavy. So I opted for the LASIK surgery. I took out a loan and I signed away and then I had that surgery. It was kind of scary but so cool that I instantly had perfect vision. For one day. There’s a condition called healing haze, there’s a 1% chance that it will happen and it happened to me! I was literally looking through haze or fog. I was given steroid eye drops for a week and as my eyes cleared, my vision deteriorated. I wear glasses now. I have to wear them to see far.
The following year, I got Bell’s palsy. The same side of my face as the Shingles. I had gotten the flu shot and the next day at work, notice I was having trouble blinking. My left eye wasn’t closing all the way, which was painful in the shower. Shampoo really does burn when you get it in your eyes. By the next morning my face drooped and I ran to the ER where my doctor’s covering physician told me I had Bell’s palsy. He put me on prednisone, gave me eye ointment to keep my left eye lubricated and a patch so I don’t hurt my eye while sleeping. I was mortified!i went to see my doctor when he got back the next day and begged to see a neurologist, Dr. DeLanerolle. She put me on double the amount of steroids, did a blink test on my facial nerves and set me for physical therapy three times a week. I am do grateful to her and Dana Jahn, my PT who helped me get my smile back!
I think that was it for a while. Until all this started in 2009/2010.
If Lyme caused the Hashimotos to come out, could it still be in my system? I know the Hashimoto’s causes my anxiety symptoms and some of the aches and throat issues. I know that right now I have other aches and pains that are new and that makes me nervous.
In 2010 I went for a brain MRI because of random numbness and tingling and strange pains. I had the neurologist test my nerves. And when everything came back normal, she mentioned that I could have fibromyalgia. I totally blew her off and agreed it was probably anxiety.
I’ve had issues with allergies for a long time. But the last decade, the food allergies are so much worse and the environmental much less. Strange? Perhaps. But what if its all connected some how? What if Lyme and Hashimoto’s and adenomyosis and fibromyalgia are all linked to endometriosis?
In the last two weeks, I’ve felt achy and a little feverish. When we went on our mini vacation, I had to wear my knee brace due to the pain I was in. So today, I had a Lyme test done at an out of network lab(another saga that I will leave out) and I pray it’s negative.
A friend of mine informed me a few days ago, that when you have Lyme disease, you should never take prednisone. If you have any disease or the spirochetes in your body that are dormant, they could potentially multiply and take over your body while your lowering tour immune system with prednisone. Great!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, allergist, anxiety, Endometriosis, food allergy, Hashimotos thyroiditis, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, meditation, positive thinking, reiki, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Autoimmune disease sucks

  1. Catherine says:

    Hi there, I hate auto immune diseases as well. Its like once you have one it starts a cascade of shit in our bodies that takes us to a road that isn’t good. Something else I hate INFERTILITY. Actually I can’t say that because of all that I have endured I have met a sisterhood of women that I wouldn’t have other wise met. I have educated people who other wise wouldn’t be educated, and I have been that shoulder for someone to cry on, because of the trust we have built, when they have no one else who “gets it” That’s the only thing that keeps me sane sometimes is looking at it from a standpoint of I my story makes a difference, and other womens stories support, guide and teach me as well. When one of us gets a positive test, its not like the usually fb announcement that someone is posting and they are announcing their 5th kid and want to share every detail, ultrasound picture and all that bullshit. Thank you for sharing

  2. Lisette says:

    So difficult, you are a warrior. Thinking of you

  3. Becky says:

    Holy Hannah, you have been through A LOT! I hope your test comes back negative and that you start feeling better soon!

Leave a Reply

