Acupuncture at its finest

I switched my post. I was going to start off by complaining about my pains again. However, there are so many others worse off than little old me! So, while I am doubled over with my heating pad on and my hot tea at the moment, I know this pain will pass in a few days. I thought it best to talk about one of the wonderful things I do for my health and my pains, acupuncture.
I started going to acupuncture to get pregnant. Not naturally, of course, (I would need Fallopian tubes for that) but via IVF with immune suppression.
So I went in to meet my new acupuncturist, Lauren, and told her about my health issues, that I’d like my uterus to behave and my pain to be less. She listened, sympathized and understood (Lauren also has Hashimoto’s thyroiditis, which means she knows my symptoms well). She immediately told me to get off gluten. I was shocked. I mean, she hardly knew me, but she knew!
When I met Lauren, I felt like I’d known her for a long time. She’s a reiki master, I seem to be drawn to them, it’s a good thing. It was like a long lost friend came to my rescue.
Conventional doctors and medicine doesn’t work for me. I can’t take pain killers (which is probably a good thing) and I can’t keep having surgeries (the only one I need is a hysterectomy at this point).
The acupuncture Lauren does is called five element acupuncture. Here is her website. She incorporates everything, body, mind, chakras, etc.
It’s not your usual acupuncture, where the needles are placed in certain points and then you’re left in the room laying there waiting for results and for the acupuncturist to come back and flip you over and repeat. Lauren puts the needle in, twists it and its out. I was very skeptical until she did it to me. In, the needle went, twist, what was that? I felt the point. It doesn’t hurt, but it’s a weird feeling, a twitch? It’s hard to describe but the palms of my hands started sweating the first time and I had quick results. It was awesome!
Lauren also uses moxibustion. She only uses it in certain areas, at certain times (usually when I’m in pain or stressed) it’s so relaxing and soothing. A little stinky sometimes too. She fills my belly button with salt and burns it. I’m supposed to tell her when I can feel it get hot. I just started feeling it. There’s so much scar tissue in my belly button from 6 surgeries in the last three years, that I couldn’t feel the heat, but last week, I started feeling it. Progress!
Lauren’s helped me in so many ways. I don’t think I can list them all. Mostly, I feel so much better. Yes, I seem to always have a pain or twinge somewhere. This is getting better though. Before I went to acupuncture, when my period would come I couldn’t stand up straight, my legs hurt so badly, walking was a chore, and my cramps, (cramps an understatement) it felt like someone was in my belly, taking my uterus and twisting it constantly, then, punching my belly and reminding me of every place I’ve been poked open and stitched up. Never mind the nausea! I, unfortunately, still have terrible leg pain. Today’s one of those hunched over days.
After my cycle failed, I was so afraid of that period, after all, I had lots of hormones and blood thinners on board, its got to be horrible. Well, it wasn’t that bad. I had much less of the twisting pain. The leg pain remains though.
I think only those with adenomyosis, endometriosis, or fibromyalgia can understand this pain.
Lauren has helped stop diarrhea, anxiety, residual bleeding and a lot of the pain. She was right in telling me to get off the gluten. I’ve lost about 20 pounds and kept it off just by cutting the gluten. Imagine if I worked out too? I also started taking enzymes with probiotics and my acid reflux is better. All around much better than I was in April.
Thank you Lauren.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, anxiety, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, endometriosis diet, excision surgery for endometriosis, food allergy, Hashimotos thyroiditis, hope and love, hydrosalpinx, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, laparoscopy, laparotomy/c-section scar, positive thinking, reiki, reproductive immunology and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Acupuncture at its finest

  1. Lisette says:

    Amazing. So glad you found something to give you some relief and positive experiences. I hope it continues.

Leave a Reply

