Fascinating month. It’s the little things…

This “month” has been very fascinating. Well, for me anyway. It’s kind of a long post, so I’ll understand if you need a toilet break or snack time.
As most of us with endometriosis and adenomyosis and other autoimmune illnesses know, there are good days and really bad days and sometimes we get lucky and we are just having “tired”days. I deal with the random stabbing pains everywhere and anywhere and tell myself, “it’ll pass”. Sometimes they do so quickly and other times, well it takes surgery to help. I can’t take pain killers. I tend to have sensitivities to drugs and am allergic to Vicodin. So Advil is the drug I take when I really have to. But I prefer not to take anything I don’t have to. I turned inward and to alternative methods.
I’ve been going to acupuncture since April. Lauren’s helped me change my life. Really.
I went gluten free April 30th of this year and haven’t really looked back. What a tremendous difference in all aspects of my life. First of all I’ve lost over 20lbs and kept it off, not fluctuating all that much. Secondly, when I do bloat from the endo, it’s only about one size instead of two or three. Third, I feel better. That’s it. And I don’t have to miss bread, I eat gluten free bread. I bake my own cake and treats. I really try to stay away from any processed food. I just read all ingredients now and I absolutely steer clear of soy! Soy can mimic estrogen, I have more than enough of that!
Here’s what has fascinated me:
A week before aunt flow pays a visit, my breasts are so painful, for a day or two and then again right before it comes. I can feel a hard lump too. This has been found to be a cyst (mammo and ultrasound). But they didn’t hurt that much this month.
5-7 days before my period, my hips feel like they locked up and a nail is holding them in place. Quite painful. This happens every month. Even this month. It’s a labral tear they found in my MRI. Anyway, they don’t bother me everyday, so I’m grateful for that. I thought it was the mattress, but it has happened in hotel rooms and my old bed too. Oh well. No new mattress just yet.
Usually, one to two days before my period shows up, I get the leg pain. It starts in the hips and then shoots down the sides to my knees and last month went all the way to my feet. Then when aunt flow shows up, I’m in pain. I usually want to cut off my body from my breasts down. This includes the terrible acid reflux and gas pain. The leg pain and back and belly pain I can’t even describe. I usually have my heating pad on all day and it can’t get hot enough. If it’s really unbearable, I take ibuprofen.
Only, this month it didn’t happen. I had a day of hip pain, a fleeting sciatica flare, and my feet were achy. Then. Nothing. Not even AF. She was a few days late. (Naturally, I told someone I was happy AF hadn’t come because I didn’t want to be in agony for my husbands birthday. She asked if I was pregnant. Really. I had to explain again, that you need Fallopian tubes to get pregnant. That both of mine were removed. #1 in May of 2012 and the last one in March, so we could try the last IVF. Jesus, how come no woman knows this? Yeah. I’m sterile ok?)
I had a little boob pain the night before. Then around 11:30am, there it was. No pain, no cramp, just there. Wow. How could it be?
By that afternoon, my legs got very heavy and I was shuffling my feet but they weren’t painful. They ached, but they weren’t hurting. I didn’t use my heating pad at all.
In case that wasn’t too much info for you, here is some tmi:
I started bleeding like a stuffed pig the next day, for three days. But I had no cramps. I guess I’ll take it then!
So, I started thinking about all of the changes I’ve made. Last month I stopped using the antiperspirant. I still use deodorant, but without the aluminum. Maybe this has helped. I did read somewhere that women with mthfr should avoid toxins such as aluminum. I sometimes think it smells a little like kitty litter. Other times it smells good. After all, it is deodorant. I think that’s a major change so far. It’s the only thing I can really put my finger on as to why this month is so different. Coupled with the acupuncture and diet change, I’m almost a new woman.
I did have some indigestion the last couple of days. I didn’t eat anything out of the ordinary that would trigger it, I’m assuming it was stress related. We endosisters seem to have a lot of stress with this illness. I mean just trying to make plans can send you into a tailspin. Forget having to force feed a sick dog (don’t ask, maybe I’ll write about it, maybe not, but I don’t feel like crying at the moment), you could stand on your head and offer cut up filet mignon and he still wouldn’t eat it. Anyway!
I was so afraid to write this. I was afraid I’d jinx myself and the pain would show up with a vengeance. I’m delighted to say, it has not! Here it goes:
I had a visit from Aunt Flow and she didn’t kick my ass!!
Thank you Lauren Matzen, Reiki, and ME for going gluten free!

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in acupuncture, adenomyosis, dogs, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, endometriosis diet, excision surgery for endometriosis, food allergy, Hashimotos thyroiditis, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, laparoscopy, laparotomy/c-section scar, mammogram, positive thinking, reiki and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fascinating month. It’s the little things…

  1. Stina says:

    You have totally inspired me! I’ve wanted to try acupuncture for a long time and been toying with the idea of going gluten free. I just LOVE me some good bread though so I’m kind of being a chicken about it but you’ve convinced me! Yay, thanks for posting!

    • It was mentally hard for me to do, but I went to an allergist and got tested for eggs, wheat, milk and white rice (because a lot of gf is made with white rice). I’m actually allergic to milk and wheat. So the next day, I cut out bread completely. I hadn’t really been eating a lot of pasta so that was easy. Now, I get Udi gf bread and I bake with white rice flour and I like the schar gf pasta. I’m still learning. I especially love that Bisquick makes gf pancake mix!!! Life’s good now. You can do it! I put it off for years! Hugs

Leave a Reply

