‘Twas the night before surgery

I’m writing this from a beautiful hotel that I cannot enjoy. I can’t go wander around and look at the architecture or sit at the bar for a drink or even explore the town. Why? Because I’m stuck on the toilet or near it while I prepare for surgery tomorrow.
I’m halfway through the bowel prep. Compared to the barium I had to drink for the CT Scan, this is a piece of cake.

20131218-170841.jpg
Speaking of cake, I ate a gluten free chocolate chip cookie right before starting the prep and I was ok! It was delicious. We drove straight up to this gluten free deli in Stamford, CT where there is a designated gluten free area and there is no cross contamination. They use white utensils for gluten free and black for regular. They make their own gluten free white bread which isn’t dairy free but it’s delicious. It’s called The Awesome Deli and Gluten Free Food Factory. Check it out if you’re in Stamford.
The hotel is beautiful, the bed seems comfy and I’m freezing in the bathroom.
I have to be at the hospital at 11am. This means surgery is scheduled last on his list at 1pm. The last time I didn’t go back until almost 2pm. It’s going to be a long morning not being able to have anything to drink! Late surgery means that I’m most likely spending the night which is ok with me they have really good food. I just have to make sure I tell them I need gluten free when I check in.
I forgot to ask if I should take my Levothyroxine or not. The first surgery I had he said to take it with a small amount of water, the last time the nurse that called said not to take anything at all. I’ll skip it I guess. My tsh was almost back to normal a few weeks ago so I’m sure it’s ok now. OMG, I don’t know if that was pee or poop. Just kidding. I know.
I have a heating pad with me now as there’s no heat in this bathroom and I certainly cannot open the door, my husband might pass out. I have my book, my nail file and some clear/pink nail polish and I have my iPhone. I brought soft toilet paper, but the hotel has some too, so I’m good.

20131218-174757.jpg

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in adenomyosis, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, endometriosis diet, excision surgery for endometriosis, food allergy, Hashimotos thyroiditis, IBS, infertility, invisible illness, laparoscopy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Twas the night before surgery

  1. addercatter says:

    Oh man 😦 I hope everything goes well…

Leave a Reply

