Endo Bloggers Unite: letter to my congressman

I know, this is so late. I had written this letter at least three times and for some reason or another (me accidentally deleting it or wordpress not saving it) I had to rewrite it. I tossed the idea of this letter back and forth many times. Do I actually send it? Well, I did! Better late than never.
The reason I wasn’t sure if I should send it is because I see my congressman frequently. We live in the same town. This made me nervous at first. I have come out of my shell and sent him the following letter:

Dear Mr. Congressman,

I am writing today to ask you to join me and others in Washington, D.C., on March 13th, for the Million Women March for Endometriosis. http://www.millionwomenmarch2014.org

Endometriosis is a painful, life changing disease that has no cure.

It is diagnosed only through laparoscopic abdominal surgery.

It can take up to ten years to diagnose. Ten years of suffering and being told we are crazy and that cramps are normal.

The only effective treatment we have is laparoscopic excision surgery performed only by a handful of skilled surgeons. These surgeons are not covered under insurance; they are “Out of Network”.

Doctors need to go for continuing education. When I was a licensed veterinary technician, I had to go for continuing education credits to learn up to date techniques that we could implement in our daily job responsibilities and therefore, better help the animals. Why aren’t doctors responsible to do the same?

Someone with endometriosis can have pain every day. I did. I have friends who can’t work anymore due to pain. I was almost there myself.

I’ve suffered with back pain, constant bowel issues, nausea, heartburn, leg pain, chest pain, breast pain, and the infamous cramps (which are worse than whatever you could imagine. I’ve felt like someone was wringing out my uterus like a towel). And it’s not just during my period. It’s affected me emotionally and mentally as well. Something like this tends to hit you over the head. The biggest and hardest pain was the infertility. I’ve had two pregnancy losses with the aid of Assisted Reproductive Technology. The first IVF was over $12,000.
This disease has taken my Fallopian tubes, invaded most of my organs and has left me without a savings fund.

I’ve had seven surgeries in three years. The last one was this past December. My intestines were so badly attacked that I couldn’t eat solid food for two months. Four of my surgeries have totaled over $25,000 and I will still need another surgery.

Won’t you please stand with us to bring awareness to Endometriosis?

Sincerely,
Melanie

20140223-164244.jpg

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in anxiety, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, endometriosis diet, excision surgery for endometriosis, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, IVF In Vitro Fertilization, laparoscopy, laparotomy/c-section scar and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

