Endo Bloggers Unite: Catching up weeks 6-8

I’m combining the rest of the weeks questions in his one! I have to catch up.
Week 6 (February 16th- 22nd, to give you an idea of how far behind I’ve gotten here). Why is it important for the world to recognize endometriosis?
I really wanted to write, duh!
If the world could recognize Endo as an immediate issue and treat it like other serious, life altering illnesses, wow, things would surely change. We’d have better treatments, earlier diagnosis, education in schools, disability, more work from home options from some employers, no more doctors just handing out pain killers to cover it up (that has to stop, it’s ridiculous, figure out why we are in so much pain)! The list can go on and on. Many girls and women would stop thinking they’re crazy. The pain is real. Some girls seem to know more about pain killers than their pharmacists. It scares me terribly. A young lady I know just had a few painful episodes, was given Vicodin and told she probably has pcos and most likely will never have kids. The next time a cyst burst, after being on birth control pills, she was told to be careful because she could get pregnant while switching birth control pills. Endo was never mentioned as a rule out and I see some similarities in her pain symptoms. Why?
Luckily, the world will know about endometriosis very soon. In just a few days, we will be in Washington, D.C. We will be joined by a rock star and actress and many important medical professionals. There will be many marches around the world as well. We will be seen and heard. Let’s make a difference for the future generations!

Week 7 How are you feeling about going? What are you most looking forward to/most nervous about.
I’m very excited to be going to the march. For one, my husband is joining me. Two, I get to see my in laws. We missed spending Christmas with them because of my seventh surgery. Third, I get to meet all of my sisters and fellow warriors and people in the medical community who are making a difference. I can t even put into words how excited I am to meet everyone. There are a few ladies who I can’t wait to hug and talk to in person. I am delighted to introduce my husband to them as well. It’s been a year since I met these ladies on twitter, I feel so blessed to be in this community and I pray I help someone out there.
I’m really happy to be going there to make a difference and to support an effort to help raise awareness for this disease that has changed my life! I think it’s changed my life for the better.
I am worried about the weather, which I cannot control. So far, it’s supposed to be around freezing.
And the food thing. If you’ve been reading, you know my options are extremely limited due to allergies. Add to that, I am trying to eat purely and lightly for my Tibetan healing session next weekend (another topic all together).
I’m super happy about being on vacation starting Tuesday! I just wish we could bring the dogs!

Week 8 Did you tell your friends, family, co-workers that you are going to the march? What were their reactions? I sure did. I tell everyone I can about it. Most of my coworkers say they think it’s cool. They’re probably still confused as to exactly what Endo is, but they tell me that to my face. My manager kind of gave me a weird look and walked away. Nothing bad but not feeling the support there. I only see my coworkers once or twice a week depending on who’s coming to relieve me for lunch. There are only two that I see during the week. The guys of course don’t say much of anything. I think that’s because they have no idea what to think or say. I did make sure to tell the fathers who have daughters though. Just so they’ve heard of it and can possibly recognize the symptoms.

Ok. Now I am all caught up. I have one more blog to write. I guess I’ll write it tomorrow. After all, I will have to start packing sooner rather than later.

20140309-194843.jpg

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, hope and love, infertility, invisible illness, positive thinking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

