Odin’s reiki story

I had planned to write about endometriosis awareness, since it is March! However, this came out instead;

I had moved out and gotten married and I took my two young dogs with me.  I had to leave my rescues, Bella and Odin, with my parents as four big dogs are impossible for me to have in a small houseAs they got older, I would visit more often.  I wished I could’ve taken them with me. They were the best dogs, and they were twins! I met them when I worked for a veterinarian.  I used to be their pet sitter and then one day, they were mine. I had an instant connection with Odin the day they came in for an annual exam. It was as if we already knew each other.  He jumped up and gave me a lick and a nibble on my chin.  His then owner was shocked as “he never kissed anyone.”


I had been attuned to Reiki in late 2011.  Odin bloated in 2012, four days after he turned twelve.  He was a big black standard poodle, amazingly loving, yet an anxious dog. His sister was the princess and so smart. 


One low rumble of thunder was enough for him to begin to pace and pant.  He had medication from the veterinarian for thunderstorms, but because it was only a little rumble, my parents didn’t give him the pill.  It was early in the morning and he bloated (his stomach filled with air and twisted- life threatening situation).  


I had just had surgery and was heading into the city for my follow up appointment, my husband was driving.   My mother sent me a text that they were taking him to the veterinarian because he had vomited.  The next text was that they were taking an x-ray.  I knew instantly that my boy was bloating and in very serious condition.  I begged my husband to turn the car around! I wanted to cancel my appointment and turn around and go to him.  I was afraid it would be the last time I would see him.  I had no idea how bad it actually was until much later.  


There I was in Manhattan, in the exam room, waiting for the doctor to look at my incision sites from one of my many surgeries for endometriosis.  He was running very late that day (a rare occasion). At this point, I knew Odin was in danger.  My mom had stopped texting me.  So, my thoughts were, either he’s dead or in surgery.  


I decided to take the opportunity of being alone in the exam room to close my eyes, set the intention to send reiki to my dog, the veterinarian and the technicians trying to save his life, but mainly to Odin. I felt my entire body heat up. My body seemed to be tingling all over and I felt the energy begin to flow.  My hands were on fire.  I felt so many emotions and I still am not sure I can explain them even now.  I was connected to him, I was crying. 

The doctor came in, looked at me puzzled and told me that the crying wasn’t good for the stitches.  At least he had a sense of humor. 


We were finally back in the car, heading home and I got the call.  He was out of surgery and alive.


The story is: He had collapsed in the backyard.  When my parents brought him to the veterinarian, his heart rate was over 200 bpm, way too high for surgery and on the verge of a heart attack! They had spent precious time trying to slow down his heart rate enough for surgery.  Normally, after that much time, some of the intestines and even the spleen would have lost their blood supply and died off.  Most importantly, Odin wasn’t going to live through surgery with his heart beating that fast!  When I was sending the reiki, his heart slowed enough for them to open him up and untwist his stomach (4 or 5 hours later) and attach it to his abdomen, sew him back up and wake him up.  The surgery only took 35 minutes!  There was no damage to his intestines or spleen.  


From then on, I constantly sent him reiki.  He was back to his happy self for a brief time.  He had to have his toe amputated 10 days later. He had toe cancer (another story all together). 

I visited and gave him reiki every other day.  I truly believe he survived the surgery because of the reiki I sent him.  

 

 

Odin passed away December 17th, 2013 from a second bloat. We couldn’t do surgery because he was in heart failure.  Bella passed away December 13th, 2014. Her heart gave out after a bout with Liver disease and cancer.  Both of them received reiki as they took their last breath.

About our last embryo

I have Endometriosis, Adenomyosis and Hashimoto's Thyroiditis. I've had Lyme, Bell's Palsy and the Shingles before I was 25. I've done IVF twice, with and without immunosuppression and FET. I am married to my best friend and I am Infertile.
This entry was posted in anxiety, dogs, Endometriosis, endometriosis awareness, excision surgery for endometriosis, hope and love, invisible illness, positive thinking, reiki and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Odin’s reiki story

  1. I love this story. Reiki is powerful even if it’s just to make the passing less painful. ❤

Leave a Reply

